David Forest and Mixed Exhibition

October 16, 2017

Bainton_550

David Forest in the Bainton Room

David says, “I have recently returned to England after 30 years in the Czech Republic where I was privileged to work in architecture and building engineering involved in the refurbishment of central Prague during the period immediately after the Velvet Revolution.”

“Dealing with a variety of buildings of the Romanesque, Gothic, Baroque Classicism, Italian Renaissance and Functionalism eras I was witness to a constant stream of revelations and adventure. When it was all over and retirement was on the horizon I found the artistic elements of my career had to continue, so, as most architects do, I took up my pens and began illustrating the life around me.

Gurasada_A_550A wide range of subjects called for my attention and I discovered the best way to record my time was in calendar format and therefore my art followed that route. It allowed me to combine my three great interests in life – music, graphic art and prose. From the mid nineties I “sat” in many cities, towns, villages, even railway stations around Central Europe as well as good old England and produced a considerable library of work. This included calendars for the Dvorak Society and many English cathedrals, both going worldwide. I felt that I was tracing the footsteps of three giants-Turner, Dvorak and Morton and it was these three that ultimately cemented together, for me, the narrative for the preciousness of time and travel.

DForest_York_550My time in Prague proved to be a special part of my life, as in fact does Lincolnshire and my soul belongs to these two environs, shaping my art in a way that substituted for the absence of any formal training in the subject.

My next calendar, needless to say, will be that of Sleaford and already I am working on the framework of scenes, background music and commentaries set in the style of my similar previous projects.

The work hanging in this room, you will notice, captures my travels over the last forty years. On the return to the place of my childhood I am now proud to be associated with the Carre Gallery.”

Mixed Exhibition

In Somersby and Candlesby rooms we have a mixed exhibition of work from Lincolnshire artists in various media.  Also on show are the winning images from the Portrait Exhibition which the artists have kindly allowed us to keep for another two weeks.

Exhibition open from 10 am – 4 pm until 28 October.

Candlesby_550

Images: From the top – David Forest in Bainton Room, Gurasada and A Glimpse of York Minster by David Forest, Mixed Exhibition in Candlesby Room.  Photography by Martin Cameron.

Leave a comment